24 january 2019
Select Language ARB ENG

Henry Winter

Alan Hansen



UAE FA former boards of directors

UAE FA former boards of directors

The UAE Football Association was established in 1971 as the premier body of its kind in the young nation since the declaration of its independence on December 2, 1971.

 The UAE became a member of FIFA in 1972, barely a year after the country was established, and joined the Asian and Arab confederations in 1974. The UAE hosted the sixth Gulf Cup in 1982, the 12th Gulf Cup in 1994 and the 17th in 2007. In 1996, the UAE staged the AFC Asian Cup, an honour they carried off with typical aplomb.

 The first president of the UAEFA was Shaikh Mubarak bin Mohammed Al Nahyan, Minister of Interior which underlines the keen determination of the government to look after the youth and their welfare.
UAE took part in the second edition of the Gulf Cup in Riyadh, Saudi Arabia to mark their first exposure to the international environment.

 Later on, Ghanim Obaid Ghubash took over as the second president of the FA and the UAE made its second appearance in the Gulf Cup in Kuwait and then in Qatar.

 Under the presidency of Shaikh Manie bin Khalifa Al Maktoum, the UAE began to make stronger presence at the Gulf, Arab, Asian and international arenas thanks to his dedication and relentless efforts. Plans were tailored to promote the game and leading football sides from around the world were invited to visit the country and play against the local clubs. In 1975/1976 the national league and President Cup were introduced at the country’s level to replace the old system which organizes tournaments at the different emirates separately.
Shaikh Sultan bin Zayed Al Nahyan succeeded Shaikh Manie Al Maktoum and pushed forward the efforts of advancing the game in the country.

 Many tournaments were organized at the Gulf level and the UAE hosted for the first time the meetings of the Gulf Football Associations ahead of the seventh round of the Gulf Cup. UAE qualified for the first time in its history to the AFC Asian Cup finals in Kuwait.

 Salem Al Ghammai was next president of the FA during a transitional period before the reins were passed to Shaikh Hamdan bin Zayed in the most critical stage which saw the emerge of three national teams i.e. the senior, youth and junior national teams. The senior national team advanced to the AFC Asian Cup in Singapore, the youth national team finished top in the AFC Asian U-19 Cp qualifiers in Dammam and claimed the title of the Friendship Championship in Muscat.

 The most outstanding achievements during Shaikh Hamdan’s Era finishing second in the Gulf Cup in Bahrain 1986 and Saudi Arabia 1988. In 1986 the senior national team stood on the verge of a historic qualification to the FIFA World Cup finals and the dream came true four years in Italy 1990.

 Shaikh Hamdan passed over the reins to Shaikh Abdullah bin Zayed Al Nahyan and the latter was succeeded by Shaikh Saeed bin Zayed Al Nahyan. Yousuf Al Sarkal became president before he resigned and succeeded by the present chairman Mohammed Khalfan Al Rumaithi.


January 2019

Su M Tu W Th F Sa
   1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30 31  

Update yourself with most recent issues


Follow us on Social Networks

  • face
  • rss
  • tw
  • face
  • rss
  • tw

وسطاء اللاعبين -Eng


All rights reserved FA UAE Football 2019